PHUKET GEOGRAPHY GENERALITIES

GEOGRAPHY

Phuket refers to both a province, an island and a city in Thailand.

  • Topograhy :

The most beautiful pearl of the Indian Ocean. It covers about 60 km from north to south and 20 km from east to west is 810 km2. It is the largest island in Thailand. Its northern end is connected to the mainland by bridge Saracens. Situated along the Andaman Sea (Indian Ocean) on the west coast of the Thai isthmus, its shape is reminiscent of Corsica.

  • Vegetation :

Beaches and Rubber: Its coastline is lined with many white sand beaches, clear water bays, coconut and rubber tree (origin of Amazonian tree grown for its sap: latex, whose transformation creates the rubber). The interior of the island is covered with lush hills. Moreover, it is this feature that is named: Phuket comes from Malay (neighboring country) "bukit" meaning hill.

  • A climate conducive to tourism :

The year in Phuket is divided into two: the rainy season from May to October, and the hot season from November to April, which is favorable to tourism. However, the sun shines regularly during the rainy season, the showers do not usually lasting more than two or three hours. The average temperatures are between 22 and 34 ° C. The best time to visit Phuket is from November to February. Province: Phuket, postal code: 83000, area: 810 km² Population: 314 000 hab. (2007), density: 388 inhabitants per square kilometer.

GENERALITES GEOGRAPHIQUES DE PHUKET

GEOGRAPHIE

Géographie de Phuket

Phuket désigne à la fois une province, une île et une ville de Thaïlande.

  • Topograhie:

La plus belle perle de l'Océan Indien. Elle s'étend sur près de 60 km du nord au sud, et 20 km d'est en ouest, soit 810 km2 de superficie. C'est la plus grande île de Thaïlande. Son extrémité nord est reliée au continent par le pont des Sarrasins. Située au bord de la mer d'Andaman (dans l'océan Indien) sur la côte ouest de l'isthme thaïlandais, sa forme fait penser à la Corse.

  • Végétation:

Des plages et du caoutchouc: Son littoral est bordé de nombreuses plages de sable blanc, de baies d'eau limpide, de cocotiers et d'hévéas (arbre d'origine amazonienne cultivé pour sa sève : le latex, dont la transformation permet de créer le caoutchouc). L'intérieur de l'île est couvert de collines à la végétation luxuriante. C'est d'ailleurs à cette particularité qu'elle doit son nom : Phuket vient du malais (pays voisin) « bukit » qui signifie colline.

  • Un climat propice au tourisme:

L'année à Phuket est partagée en deux : la saison des pluies de mai à octobre, et la saison chaude de novembre à avril, ce qui est favorable au tourisme. Néanmoins, le soleil brille régulièrement au cours de la saison des pluies, les averses ne durant généralement pas plus de deux ou trois heures. Les températures moyennes sont comprises entre 22 et 34°C. La meilleure période pour aller à Phuket s'étend de novembre à février. Province : Phuket, code postal : 83000, superficie : 810 km², population : 314 000 hab. (2007), densité : 388 hab./km².

Powered by 12Go Asia system